ephemera remixes

released November 8, 2023

My Ephemera album was released one year ago, on Nov. 8, 2022, and to celebrate the album’s first anniversary of being out in the world, I’m thrilled to present these remixes by artists from Vancouver, Germany and Scotland.

Thank you to the artists who contributed remixes for this EP. Please check out their music!

  • lehto.bandcamp.com
  • djsoo.bandcamp.com
  • edwardspark.bandcamp.com
  • cloudlandbluequartet.bandcamp.com

The EP opens with DJ Soo's remix of The Dust, an intelligent half-time stomper with intricate drum programming, big bass drops and dub flourishes.

In his Tasty studio in Edinburgh, Edward Spark remade The Walls into nearly nine minutes of deep and introspective soft house bliss where the drums take centre stage, supported by Sparky’s trademark delicate melodic synth work.

Lehto picked Arise as the starting point for a new collaborative track with Socool, and it blossomed into Late Bloom, a smooth and airy mid-tempo track, first released on our YVR to LBC EP and included here courtesy of Bathurst Music.

Low Intensity Nexus Point is a new track that seemed to magically emerge out of a six-second loop I sampled from CBQ’s currently unreleased Goldfinch Drum Mix of Mighty Atom. Look out for CBQ's end of year round up "Twentytwentythree", out 31 December on Bandcamp, which will include more of his unreleased work on my material.

The ambient remix of Mighty Atom by Cloudland Blue Quartet (CBQ) builds an evolving soundscape through some deep sub-bass into gentle abstraction punctuated by snippets of enigmatic field recordings and a layer of textural noise.

Songs and production by Socool, with additional remix production by DJ Soo, Edward Spark, Lehto and Cloudland Blue Quartet.

artwork adapted from “seascape” by james hamilton

license: © all rights reserved

https://faircamp.radiofreefedi.net/socool/ephemera-remixes/ Copy Copied Failed Close